Shiro Buta Reijou Chapter 28

Chapter 28: The west garden and my former Fiancé


We arrived at the castle, and after parting with crown prince Marlow, we were guided to our rooms. One person per room, it’s a considerably nice reception. Nora and Lily and I are next-door neighbors. Ryuze and Ricardo have rooms on the floor above us.

Since we arrived at the castle in the afternoon and were guided to our rooms soon after, it was still bright outside. From my room on the second floor, I could see the castle’s west garden. Although we passed them on the way, this big castle has beautiful gardens scattered here and there.

If I had to say, the west garden had a non-showy, calming image. Rather than large showy roses and fancy fountains, there were small flowers and various kinds of herbs planted in a greenhouse.

… Right. They have the luxury of growing every kind of herb in the country in this garden, this place is certainly to my liking.

I confirmed with a castle servant that I was free to enter and exit the west garden as I pleased. Without delay, I started wandering around the garden.

Entering the greenhouse in the garden, I studied the various plants that were being grown.

Since there are many herbs here that aren’t normally grown in this area, they are probably brought from another place and transplanted. Although the flowers aren’t blooming, common mallow and marigold-like flowers are growing. It’s the end of autumn now – although it’s a greenhouse, it seems there are technical problems, and the flower blossoms will finish falling sometime later.

Common Mallow.jpg

Common Mallow

Mairgold Flower.jpg

Marigold

In my original world, I think the greenhouse was invented in a later period, so the level of civilization in this shoujo manga world might be different depending on the object.

A short time later, the door to the castle opened and Ricardo came out.

As I heard from Ryuze, since Ricardo is the second son until now he hasn’t visited the royal capital. Since he hasn’t made any acquaintances yet, he seems to be burdened with lots of free time.

Once he saw me, he approached saying “What, you came here too?”

“What are you looking at with such enthusiasm?”

“This garden herb. There are a lot of varieties here that can’t be found in the Hakusu earldom.”

“There are a few flowers but… most of them look like weeds.”

Certainly, lots of herbs look like weeds, and some herbs are even sturdier than weeds.

In my previous life when the peppermint proliferated too much in my garden, I have the memory of getting flustered and uprooting a large quantity of them.

“Most likely, someone in the castle is growing them in order to make herbal tea. As for this, I believe it to be a type of nettle. It has the effects of anemia and asthma prevention. This garden has lots of useful herbs.”

Stinging Nettle.jpg

Stinging Nettle

“I see. What else is here?”

For example, in the corner of the greenhouse… that stinky thing growing in the corner is a chameleon plant (Houttuynia Cordata) and has an anti-poison effect. Over here is a plant called thyme which is used for disinfection.”

Chameleon Plant.jpg

Chameleon Plant (Houttunyia Cordata). They also come with red- and orange-tinted leaves.

Thyme.jpg

Thyme

“I’m surprised. You are well-informed about all kinds of medicinal plants.”

“Ee, maa… be that as it may, I still don’t know the effects of all these medicinal plants. I only know the most common ones.”

In my previous life, there was a time when I was fascinated with herbs useful for beauty. Thanks to that, I am aware of the most famous varieties.

While I was talking about herbs, Ricardo stared at me fixedly.

“You, have you gotten thinner again?”

“Eeto… I’m continuing my diet.”

As I replied, Ricardo’s face clouded over a little.

Grandfather is still angry that the engagement was broken off, and may still be complaining that it’s Ricardo’s fault that I’m dieting.

“… I see. By the way, Hakusu earldom’s reijou.” (TLN: Reijou = “noble’s daughter.” Most reviews thought this was okay so I’m going to try it out like this.)

“What is it?”

“After this, you will be running a territory the same as I. When are you going to stop using formal speech with me?”

“Formal?”

“Aa, stop using honorifics for me (Ore) when we’re in a private place. I don’t mind you calling me just “Ricardo.””

“Eh~? W, well then, please call me just “Britney” as well. As we mutually improve our territories, let’s do our best!” (Ganbarimashou)

“… keigo.” (TLN: Formal language)

“L, let’s do our best!” (Ganbaraou)

Due to this and that, the distance between Ricardo and I shrunk a little… maybe.

I’m happy that we will continue to have good relations as we manage our territories in the future, but I’m bewildered by his change in attitude since our first meeting.

(… I thought he was a high-handed young master, but is he actually a shy boy? No, it’s somewhat different.)

During our first meeting, I was told “I hate it,” so I don’t think his attitude will vary too much.

After walking together with Ricardo in the garden, we separated and returned to our rooms. After such a long walk I needed to massage my feet.

As expected of a castle’s garden, there’s no way I could run around it. However, I could still do weight training inside my room. The maid I brought from the earldom seems happy and restless to have come to the castle.

To be honest, it’s troublesome to go to the party, but I must persevere to find a fiancé!

I took my mind off the party and fired myself up to exercise.

Nevertheless, who is using the herbs from that garden… I’m somewhat curious about it.


Translator’s Corner:

Merry Christmas! It’s the 25th here now.

Trying out “Reijou” instead of “noble’s daughter” for now! If they continue to use the term as often as they have been, I don’t think it will be a problem…

2110 characters, 45 lines

20 thoughts on “Shiro Buta Reijou Chapter 28

  1. Many thanks~ Happy holidays~
    Yeps, reijou has no problems for me. But my my, herbs huh? I’m kinda thinking its Angela who planted them. idk, i just feels with the ninja bodyguards and all its possible.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Ah! That is actually a great idea that would explain the Ninja outfits.

      Rather than dressing them like that because she wants her maids to look uggly, what if their clothes are actually some sort of protective suits that are supposed to keep the maids safe when harvesting some of the plants?

      Or then again, maybe the princess is just super weird and is interested in creating super secret Ninja maids or something… Because she is a spy otaku or something.

      The Prince did after all referr to her as useless. I.E he loves his little sister but wishes she didn’t spend her time and effort doing strange and pointless things?

      Like

  2. Hmm… I think sticking to “Noble Daughter” is better now that I see it in practice… Reijou usually used as proposition like… (Territory name) no Reijou so… it look kind of weird when mixed with english… well, probably just me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. … I got the sudden urge for Chrysanthemum Tea…

    Well, i guess i’ll look for wild chrysanthemum. Though, the wild one doesn’t taste as good as the domesticated one

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for the chapter!
    I think using noble’s daughter works better for me as i have read too many villainess novels (web and light). But who knows maybe the more I read reijou the more i enjoy it. Merry loner’s day ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Like

  5. Hi all, since yesterday was Christmas I wasn’t able to get a chapter translated by the regular time today. There might be one later in the day, or posts will resume tomorrow.

    Like

  6. Still disagree with using “reijou”.

    Also, this line is weird whether you use noble’s daughter or reijou.

    “… I see. By the way, Hakusu earldom’s reijou.”

    I don’t need you need to include the was three words at all. I’d just go with

    “I see. By the way…”

    Like

  7. Thx for the chapter o/
    i finally got up to date with the series~~
    Why do i feel like those herbs belong to Angela and that she is still not as bad as her manga self… just a hunch ;D
    also, both Reijou and Noble’s Daughter work for me, if i had to choose i would go with Noble Daughter but i see that Reijou is MUCH easier to write)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. …I guess I’ve put too much feelings in the first few chapters – I can’t shake off my dislikes against Richard.
    His worth now is only of that of a regretting ex-fiance – he should serve to satisfy readers’ crave for the moment Britney’s final duckling transformation happen!

    If this dullard MC fails to recognize his changing attitude and still behave with such welcoming and unrestrained behavior, I’ll probably be severely disappointed. Woah the hell why am I being so serious about a light fiction here XD

    Like

  9. In my opinion, Earl rank still a upper echelon rank, somehow I feel the Author kinda make light of it. Daughter a a Earl is still can be considered as a candidate for the next queen, not and lady-in-wait (which also mean personal maid, I believe). An Earl rank have enough authority power to establish an personal knight order, which mean a professional military, so it need to be capable enough person. Britney’s Grandfather cant be that thick head, if he were a Viscount, which usually match a imagine of a lord of a rural land, it would make more sense.
    Well, dunno why i so serious but I really wanna to say this out, this is plot flaw….

    Like

  10. Hmm this made me interested on studying herbs again. I was fascinated by them a few years back but quickly forgot about it.

    Ricardo tho, hmm is this gonna be the start of something? Fufu

    Thanks for the chapter! 🍀

    Like

Leave a comment