Shiro Buta Reijou Chapter 37

Chapter 37: Keeping Secrets from Family is Difficult


In response to Ryuze’s interrogation, I inclined my head with unrefined movements.

“Onii-sama, what are you talking about? Aren’t I your younger cousin Britney?”

“Un, but… we’ve lived together for a long time, and after observing you all that while I have a sense of discomfort. Ojii-sama has always been so overprotective, so I’ve noticed a definite change.”

Just like I’ve been watching Ryuze, it seems he’s been watching me as well.

“U~n, wait a moment, isn’t it just because I’ve lost weight?”

“Perhaps, but it’s almost like something has taken possession of you. In the first place, I can’t think of your conduct as a thirteen-year-old Reijou.”

“… Puberty in young girls takes many forms.”

I tried to dodge Ryuze’s questioning with a vague answer, but this cousin of mine won’t so easily be deceived.

“In the first place, where did you even get your knowledge? I investigated, but there are no books related to soap or hot springs in our library. You have never left the house so just where did you find the opportunity to learn all this?”

My cousin drew near me and placed both hands on the door so I couldn’t escape.

“Hey, Britney. If you’re hiding something honestly tell me. We’re family, aren’t we?”

“Gu, gufufu… It’s just your average growth to adulthood. As for the hot springs, eeto, I learned of them from a trader that arrived at our estate. The soap I produced on accident.”

“Your gaze isn’t on me but to the upper left. I’m sad, you’re still lying to me.”

“Ugu-…?”

It seems the thing I had read during my previous life in a book on psychology was true.

If your partner’s line of sight gazes to the upper left they’re telling a fib, and if they gaze to the upper-right they’re telling the truth. Incidentally, gazing to the lower left means they’re trying to remember past emotions, and gazing to the lower right means they’re wondering something to theirselves. (TLN: No idea if any of this is true. Any opinions?)

Although this shoujo manga’s world falls behind my previous world technologically, I’m troubled that psychology alone grew to this level.

“You don’t need to be so cautious.”

Rather I think it’s very reasonable to be cautious in this situation.

For the time being, I need to do something about this kabedon situation. I don’t think there’s any deep meaning, but it’s bad for my heart.

Kabedon.jpg

Kabedon example (except Ryuze surrounded her with both arms)

“What can I say for you to believe me?”

“Tell me the truth.”

“… What if the truth is a preposterous story?”

“Even so, I want to know about you.”

I thought for a little while.

(In order to escape from this situation, should I tell him the truth? It’s an unbelievable story anyway.) [TLN: Britney, no, that’s like telling the last boss your weakness!]

Even if he finds out whether it’s true or not from my line of sight, I don’t think it’s likely that Ryuze will believe the contents.

Putting my face in order and directing my line of sight towards my cousin, I slowly opened my mouth.

“Onii-sama, do you believe in previous lives?” (TLN: BRITNEY NO.)

“… Eh?”

“I have memories from my life as a different human being. Precisely on the day my engagement was broken off I remember everything.”

Ryuze was silently staring at my face. I suppose he’s confirming whether it’s a lie or not.

“In my previous life’s world, the level of civilization was much more advanced. The soap I created was abundant there… The other products too, I made all of them using my previous life’s knowledge. Well, the necessary ingredients weren’t all there so I could not make the exact same products.”

“…”

“My previous life’s age was a little older than you are no Ryuze-oniisama, so I think you felt a sense of discomfort due to that… do you believe what I’m saying?”

“Britney.”

“Maa, after hearing Onii-sama’s words my line of sight has been fixed to the upper-right ever since, and I told you such a tall tale.”

After rapidly talking, I escaped through a gap in my cousin’s arms.

(Yosh, I got away!)

Or so I thought, but he perfectly caught my wrist. I failed to escape.

“I don’t know whether your story about your previous life is true or not… but I’m very interested in you now.”

With eyes as dark blue as an ocean, Ryuze fixedly stared at me.

“It’s fine if you don’t keep any interest. I’m just a white pig after all.”

“I thought it unusual that you spoke to princess Angela so impiously… I wonder what you were thinking about?”

“Are you serious? Please absolutely refuse anything that involves that matter about heading towards the royal capital. I need to become thin and create good vibes so that I could find a connected to a marriage partner… I haven’t been able to lose weight past 60 kilos though…”

“Wouldn’t it work out if you gave up on your midnight snacks?”

“… Midnight snacks? What are you talking about?”

“Occasionally you rummage around the kitchen for foodstuffs in the middle of the night, no?”

“… Eh, no way. I don’t believe it.” (TLN: Me neither. Someone in the comments from Ryuze’s PoV chapter took note of this but I never thought she was actually grabbing food. I apologize for not believing you.)

In my mind, past offenses floated across.

At the time I just started my diet, sometimes I would sleepwalk and find myself in the kitchen.

At those times I woke up, but if I ate and returned to bed without noticing it, how horrifying…

(I need to take countermeasures as soon as possible…!)

This time I was able to shake off Ryuze’s hand, and at full speed I sprinted towards my room.

I felt I heard him chuckling behind me, but I had a feeling I shouldn’t look back…


Translator’s Corner:

Hoo boy, you’re really done it now Britney. You told the last boss your secret. Do you REALLY think he’s not going to hold that over your head for the rest of your life?

“Oh, Britney, do this or else I’ll tell x y and z your secret. Maybe you’ll get locked away in a mental hospital?”

“Understood, Onii-sama. I’ll do it at once.”

“Hahaha, good girl~. Here’s a treat.”

See, that’s your future now?

I should stop translating for tonight. I’m much too tired LOL.

Back in school now so releases may slow down. I promise 1 per week (Sunday) but hopefully more!

2169 characters, 56 lines

30 thoughts on “Shiro Buta Reijou Chapter 37

  1. Thx for the chapter o/
    While i agree that she should not have told him her secret, i don’t see any other way for her to get out of that situation otherwise. If she lied he most likely would have seen thru it, and there was no where to run.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. “… Eh, no way. I don’t believe it.” (TLN: Me neither. Someone in the comments from Ryuze’s PoV chapter took note of this but I never thought she was actually grabbing food. I apologize for not believing you.)

    apology accepted. this was the highlight for me XD…either this or Britney’s reveal to her cousin. well, we can probably depend on him to keep her secret.

    Thanks for the chapter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The thing is, the whole thing is actually something MISINTERPRETED.
      There’s somewhat a [tell] that you can use, however this is more for those thinking calmly, not with those under pressure.
      People have a tendency to look in one direction when they’re remembering something, and a tendency to look into another direction when they’re trying to fabricate events. It’s not always a truth or a lie thing, and it doesn’t always show up.
      I won’t tell you what are the REAL directions people check because it’s too powerful a tool for ordinary use. It’s on par with cheating actually if this and other [hacks] are taken up.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Just as well, most people lack the immediacy of conviction to lie properly and details turn up inconsistent at times. And most people will tell you who they are and what they want in casual conversation. They’re up front about their characters from the word go because everybody likes talking about themselves and their motivations. This requires just paying attention. If you can’t get a read on them, it’s because they’re deliberately obfuscating their character.

        The tricks I do remember are defensive body language (e.g. crossed arms, tucked in posture and looking away) and overly formal speech (with no contractions in English). Some people subconsciously put barriers between them and you (e.g. furniture).

        Pathological liars and psychopaths are generally easy to notice unless you’re a complete moron. Usually because they don’t care if they contradict themselves and lie even when it isn’t necessary.

        In any case, Britany’s lies are pretty obvious. No tricks required.

        Like

  3. I think Ryuze is starting to change his mind about marrying Britney out, that would be tantamount to giving away a gold mine; He’d probably marry her himself… after she succeeds in losing weight that is… (Note: Marrying cousins are common in the middle ages… don’t judge them) 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “What can I say for you to believe me?”

    “Tell me the truth.”

    “… What if the truth is a preposterous story?”

    “Even so, I want to know about you.”

    “I don’t know whether your story about your previous life is true or not… but I’m very interested in you now.”

    With eyes as dark blue as an ocean, Ryuze fixedly stared at me.

    is this foreshadowing? XD
    does Ryuzu likes her?

    Like

  5. It’s mostly nonsense. Mostly, because it gets into complicated “I know you know you know I know” games, but at it’s simplest, someone whose lying tends to avert their gaze. Further, much like people tend to tilt their heads the same way in kissing, there’s a bias towards one direction, but of course some people are uncomfortable with eye contact, so that’s another complication. It’s unreliable at best and more often than not misleading.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nobody likes a book that gives away the plot in the first 20 pages… she shouldn’t have told him.

    Not knowing everything creates mystery which is attractive if you give it up so easily they will just move on to the next book.

    Like

  7. Idiot. The worst person she could have confessed to. Friend, lover, any trusted person… No, she cracked under manipulative miser with vaguely malicious intentions. Unless he suddenly dies, this is “Game Over” scenario. Prolonged one. I’m seriously considering just dropping the novel.

    Like

  8. bruh, I do not support this ship so i hope this sinks cuz…. Incest. No. That’s disgusting. Liiek bruh, you two are cousins. Imagining a cousin as a partner is… ew. no.

    anyway thanks for the chapter XD

    Like

  9. I’ve always hated it when reincarnated or transmigrated characters reveal their secret to other characters. The reason for this is because it changes the dynamics of the story. It goes from it being a secret between the MC and the reader, to become something of little importance.

    Thankfully Brittney mostly side-stepped this and while telling her cousin the truth, did it in an off handed way… Still, I wish she would have been even more clever about it and just told him that she now had “some” memories from her previous life. It woul be the truth after all, just not the entire truth. I mean, there was absolutely no reason for her to tell him that her previous life had been older than him is there?

    With him now partially knowing her secret, to keep it from becoming a part of the story I am now actually hoping that her cousin will die… Or at least suffer from a permanent memory loss regarding that matter. Real memory loss, not just that he doesn’t think about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The kabedon picture, is it weird that my first instinct at looking at the picture is for the girl to try to knuckle thrust under the (exposed) armpit to hopefully get his ribs? okay…

    Like

  11. Lmao TL san 😂😂

    Well, I do have a similar concern. Rip Britney 🙈

    Thanks for the chapter! 🍀

    Like

Leave a comment